Becoming a mother

It is said that a woman becomes a mother as soon as she finds out she is pregnant. I would have to slightly disagree with that statement. I mean don’t get me wrong, when i found out that i was pregnant it changed my lifestyle to where i would never do anything to put my unborn child at risk or harm her in any way but the fact that i was a mother did not really sink in until  i had my ultra sound. That Day changed my way of thinking for my entire life and thinking. Before B it was i am content with living pay check to pay check and not really striving to do better. I think one of Vince Vaugnh’s  quotes from the movie Dodge Ball summed up my life before B which was ” I found that if you have a goal, that you might not reach it. But if you don’t have one, then you are never disappointed. And I gotta tell ya… it feels phenomenal.” and that’s the way it was. Now every time i look into my baby girls brown eyes I think I want to be the best role model for my baby girl and that starts by actually having a goal of some sort and achieving those goals. I want to be the best mom that i can be not only for B but for my self.

Mom is a title to which the job description is so huge that if you asked people to describe the job of being a mom, everyone would say something different. Not even Google can give a definition of what a mom is. If i had to describe what a mother is using my mother as an example i would say my mother is beautiful, intelligent, a listener, my own personal cheer leader,compassionate,courageous,earnest,genuine and selfless to name a few. If i were to list all the words i would use to describe her we would be here all night. Becoming a mother myself has brought into perspective what exactly what my mother has gone through all these years and what i have to look forward to. Everything she was willing to sacrifice for all 3 of her children and how the sacrifices have no limit. Not only that but everything she was willing to do to see a smile on the faces of her kids. I know I can be a royal pain in the butt sometimes and I can seem pretty thankless sometimes and there is no way possible to ay her back for everything she has done. The only thing I can say is I love you mom. Having B has lead me to hope that one day i will be half the mother she is.

Peace,

-Lady X

Leave a Reply

